1. Docs
  2. Calling
  3. Merging Calls

Merging Calls

Updated October 30, 20262 min read
The Hooked Call Banner with the merging features highlighted.

Overview

Merging calls to your manager or other coworkers can be done through the Hooked Call Banner.

Finding the Merge Calls Button

The Merge Calls button will be located on Hooked's Call Banner.

Once clicked, it will open your contact list, and you can choose who you’d like to merge with during the call.

Calls continue when you press the Merge Call button.

Using the Contact List

After clicking the Merge Calls button, a new window will appear. This window will show you a list of available users you can merge your calls to.

You can search for the user in three different ways:

  1. Scrolling through the list and finding the individual

  2. Use the Search Bar to look up their name

  3. Opening up the Dialpad and manually inputting the number they’d like to call

Adding Notes

Before you merge the call, you should add Notes for the person you’re sending the information to. These notes are optional, but they can be written in the Notes section of the Merge Calls window after selecting the individual you’d like to send the call to.

These notes are shown to the person before they accept the merge.

Warm Merging

Warm merging allows clients to accept the merge and speak to the agent before the call is connected to the new agent.

To initiate a warm merge, click the Warm Merge button in the Merge Call window after a user is selected.

You’ll be connected to both the client and the agent you’re sending them to. The Call Banner will adjust to display the warm merge options. Click Complete merge to disconnect from the call and fully send them to the new agent.

Direct Merging

Direct merging automatically sends the client to the new agent when the agent accepts the call.

Initiate a direct merge by clicking the Merge Call button in the Merge Call window after a user is selected.

Receiving a Merged Call

When you receive a request for a call to be merged to you, a window will appear on your Hooked screen with these details:

  1. Who is asking for a merge request

  2. Who you’ll be merged with

  3. Any additional notes written by the agent sending the request

As the agent receiving the call, you can Accept Call or Reject Call. Accepting the call will send you into the merge phase, while rejecting it reverts your window to your previous page.